The Dynamic Earth View Multimedia Version

Main Menu  >  GeoGallery  >  Gems  >  Tourmaline  >  Elbaite (Tourmaline family)
TITLE: GeoGallery

Elbaite (Tourmaline family)

The tourmaline family consists of 14 distinct minerals, but only one, elbaite, accounts for nearly all of the tourmaline gemstones. Tourmaline gems cover the complete range of the color spectrum. Moreover, single crystals of elbaite can show several colors, either along their lengths or from the inside out, making it possible to cut unique multicolored gems. Although best known in shades of green and red, elbaite also can be blue, purple, yellow, or colorless. Varieties of elbaite are sometimes referred to by names, such as rubellite (red-pink), indicolite (blue), and achroite (colorless). Today Brazil is the largest producer of gem tourmaline; other important sources include the U.S., Sri Lanka, Madagascar, Mozambique, Afghanistan, Tanzania, Russia and Nigeria. The 17 tourmalines pictured here are from Brazil, Madagascar, Afghanistan and the U.S.

Image Number: 95-40500
Catalog Number: see acquisition info
Weight: 6.69-109.64 carats
G9717 G3411 G4197 G8137 G1108 G3409 G8980 G2097 G5015 G8455 G9147 G3298 G9714 G9860 G9977 G1109G9964


bottom navigation bar


Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Department of Mineral Sciences website Credits